Para Bowlers Selected for Home Nations Championships

SDS Bowls Squad at Kelvingrove

Scottish Disability Sport is delighted to announce a team of twenty seven bowlers, directors and coaches that will compete in the upcoming Home Nations International in Newport Wales from Friday 21 April to Sunday 23 April.  The event is one of two Home Nation international fixtures in 2017, with preparations for the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in 2018 starting to gather pace. 

The best of Scotland’s para bowlers will compete against the leading players from England and Wales, to be crowned champions.  In addition, the event serves as an opportunity for coaches and selectors to try differing combinations and analyse team and individual performances against top level opposition.  Furthermore, it will allow the squad the opportunity for much needed team building, as several new players and coaches will be involved.

Commenting on the team selection, SDS Performance Manager Gary Fraser said:

“SDS are delighted to announce a strong team of players to represent Scotland at this Event and having been involved in the programme over the past 6 months, it will be great to see the players compete at this level. It is an exciting time within the sport as we head into a busy competition period.”

Performances at this event will go a long way in determining who will be selected for the Multi Nation Event and Training Camp in Broadbeach, Australia in May.  This event has a major significance on our programme as it contributes to qualifying the nation for the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

For a full list of players please see below.

  Name Classification Town Local Authority
Player Billy Allan B6 Cowdenbeath Fife
Player Gary Clelland B6 Linlithgow West Lothian
Player Mike Nicoll B6 Jedburgh Scottish Borders
Player Garry Brown B7 Kirkmuirhill South Lanarkshire
Player Don Chalmers B7 Buchlyvie Stirling
Player John Hughes B7 Stewarton East Ayrshire
Player Martin Hunter B7 Burntisland Fife
Player Barbara McMillan B7 Cowdenbeath Fife
Player Michael Simpson B7 Auchtermuchty Fife
Player John Wardrope B7 Ayr South Ayrshire
Player Brendan Handling B7 Stranraer Dumfries & Galloway
 Player Robert Barr B3 Glasgow Glasgow
Player Billy Edgar B2 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Player Irene Edgar B2 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Player Maria Spencer B3 Dunfermline Fife
Player Mary Stevenson B2 Barrhead Renfrewshire
Director Sarah Jane Ewing   Dunfermline Fife
Director Ron McArthur   Falkirk Falkirk
Director Christine Morrow   Dalmuir Clydebank
Director Doreen Strachan   Glasgow Glasgow
Director David Thomas   Ardrossan North Ayrshire
Head Coach Bob Dick   Cupar Fife
Coach Chris McGready   Perth Perth & Kinross
Coach Eric McMillan   Cowdenbeath Fife
Coach Nigel Walker   Dalgety Bay Fife
Coach Bob Christie   Brechin Angus