Para Bowlers Head to Broadbeach

Bowlers at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

Scottish Disability Sport (SDS) is the recognised governing body for para bowls in Scotland and is preparing for the 8 Nations & Para Sport Event at Broadbeach Bowls Club in Australia from the 3 – 7 June 2017.  This event is essential in the qualification process for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

A team of ten players and four directors have been selected to represent Scotland in the Mixed Pair B2/B3 and Open Triple B6/B7/B8 events and these players will be supported by four coaches.  Scotland will have two teams competing across both disciplines.  The players will be tested further at the subsequent training camp that has been arranged at Musgrave Hill Bowls Club, which is also on the Gold Coast.

Commenting on the event, SDS Performance Manager Gary Fraser said:

“SDS are delighted to announce a strong field of players to compete at the Gold Coast Para-Sport Lawn Bowls Competition.  Selection decisions were extremely difficult but we feel the group has a good blend of youth, experience and a strong sense of team unity, which is vital for the pairs and triples disciplines. We look forward to the event with great enthusiasm and are confident that the players can put in the performances required. They have worked extremely hard over the past two months, competing in various competitions, to reach this stage.”

Scottish Disability Sport will travel to Gold Coast with Bowls Scotland’s High Performance Squad, which will provide a great opportunity for the full squad to blend ahead of the Commonwealth Games in April next year.

Open Triples B6/B7/B8

Player Classification Town Local Authority
Billy Allan B6 Cowdenbeath Fife
Mike Nicoll B6 Jedburgh Scottish Borders
Garry Brown B7 Kirkmuirhill South Lanarkshire
Barbara McMillan B7 Cowdenbeath Fife
Michael Simpson B7 Auchtermuchty Fife
John Wardrope B7 Ayr South Ayrshire

Mixed Pair B2/B3

Robert Barr B3 Glasgow Glasgow
Billy Edgar B3 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Irene Edgar B2 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Maria Spencer B3 Dunfermline Fife


Director Town Local Authority
Sarah-Jane Ewing Dunfermline Fife
Ron McArthur Falkirk Falkirk
Christine Morrow Dalmuir Clydebank
David Thomas Ardrossan North Ayrshire


Coaches Town Local Authority
Bob Dick (Head Coach) Cupar Fife
Chris McGready Perth Perth & Kinross
Eric McMillan Cowdenbeath Fife
Nigel Walker Dalgety Bay Fife