Blind Bowlers Draw Success at UK Championships

The Scottish Association for Blind Bowlers (SABB) hosted the UK Indoor Singles Home International at Glasgow Indoor Bowls Club from 6 -8 October 2017.

SABB, led by Team Manager David Thomas, were keen to put in a performance in order to defend their unbeaten record of winning the UK Indoor Friendship Team Trophy, which they have held since 2007!

The selectors made a number of changes to the team. There are a number of promising layers coming through at the moment and Robert Barr, Melanie Inness and Ian Graham made their first appearance at a UK Visually Impaired Bowls (UK V.I.B) Home International.

86 ties would be played over 11 sessions in all sight categories: B1, B2, B3 and B4

Day 1:
After a disappointing start to the tournament all players rallied to produce some excellent results to draw level with England on points 22-22.

Day 2:
This was an exceptionally good day for Scotland with all players supporting each other to produce a massive turnaround with Scotland gaining 30 points to lead England 52-43.

By the end of Day 2, Scotland were certainly in contention to win some medals but the player still had to produce some big results against some very good opposition.

Day 3: 
Scotland produced some exceptional wins over England and Wales and produced some medal winning performances, claiming five golds, one silver and three bronze medals.

Final Team Standings
Scotland: 67 points
England: 60 Points
Wales: 43 Points

As well as some great individual performances, the retention of the Team Trophy for the sixth time in a row was particularly pleasing for everyone involved in SABB.

Medal Winners

B1 Ladies
Eleanor Clark (Doreen Strachan) – Gold

B2 Ladies
Elizabeth Morrison (Ann Moss) – Bronze

B3 Ladies
Mary Stevenson (John Stevenson) – Gold

B4 Ladies
Melanie Inness (Grace Whitton) – Gold

B2 Gents
Ian Graham (Marday Vyapooree) – Gold
Billy Edgar (Gerry Blasby) – Bronze

B3 Gents
Robert Barr (Chris Morrow) – Gold
William Caulfield (Moira Thomson) – Silver

B4 Gents
Robert Rodgers – Bronze