Team Scotland Award for SDS Disability Inclusion Training

Sammi Kinghorn

Scottish Disability Sport’s (SDS) innovative Disability Inclusion Training (DIT) programme was announced as the winner of the Legacy 2014 Award at the Team Scotland Scottish Sports Awards in Edinburgh last night (28 Sep). Over 600 people joined the celebrations at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre, where the evening was hosted by double Olympic Gold medallist Shirley Robertson, OBE and comedian Fred MacAulay. Fresh from her exploits at the Summer Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Paralympian and SDS DIT tutor Sammi Kinghorn took to the stage to receive the award from Minister for Public Health & Sport, Aileen Campbell MSP and sportscotland Chief Executive Officer, Stewart Harris.

The DIT is designed to increase the confidence and competence of education staff to include pupils with disabilities within physical education and extra-curricular activities. The theory element of the course tackles issues such as communication, terminology, inclusion models and disability spectrum issues. The practical section deals with inclusion in a variety of settings including warm ups, fun games, core skills and team sports. In the last year alone, SDS has delivered 71 Disability Inclusion Training courses involving 1,047 candidates.

Commenting on the award, SDS Coaching & Development Manager, Heather Lowden said;

“We are absolutely delighted to have received the Legacy 2014 Award. SDS is extremely proud of its Disability Inclusion Training programme which has made significant inroads to ensuring that teachers and education staff are given support and knowledge ensure the affective inclusion of pupils with disabilities in curricular and extra-curricular activities across Scotland”.

With more than 50 Scottish Olympians and Paralympians from the recent Games in Rio in attendance, the Team Scotland Scottish Sports Awards was a star-studded celebration of their outstanding achievements as well as the success of individuals, schools, clubs and teams across the whole of Scottish sport.

Gordon Reid was also amongst the awards on the evening, winning the Para-sport Athlete of the Year, following a first Grand Slam singles title at the Australian Open, Wimbledon singles and doubles titles and Paralympic gold and silver.

Dunbar’s triple Paralympic medallist in athletics, Maria Lyle, also took the Sir Peter Heatly Trophy for the Young Athlete of the Year.

The full list of the Award Winners on the evening were as follows;

Scottish Sportsperson of the Year – Emirates Lonsdale Trophy
Andy Murray OBE, Tennis

Male Athlete of the Year – sponsored by Commonwealth Games Scotland
Andy Murray OBE, Tennis

Female Athlete of the Year – sponsored by EDF Energy
Heather Stanning MBE, Rowing

Para-Sport Athlete of the Year – sponsored by CGI
Gordon Reid, Wheelchair Tennis

Team of the Year – sponsored by PSL / Canterbury
GB Davis Cup Team, Tennis

Coach of the Year – sponsored by University of Stirling
Ben Higson & Steven Tigg, Swimming

Sporting Moment of the Year – sponsored by The Scottish Sun
Hibs score last minute goal to end 114 year wait for a Scottish Cup title – Football

Young Athlete of the Year – sponsored by EDF Energy
Maria Lyle, Para-Athletics

Sports Leader of the Year – sponsored by Brand Oath
Richard Thomas, Boxing

Governing Body of the Year – sponsored by Bluefin Sport
Scottish Athletics

Community Hub, Club or School of the Year – sponsored by sportscotland
Aviemore Community Sports Hub

Legacy 2014 Award – sponsored by Legacy 2014
SDS Disability Inclusion Training

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by Commonwealth Games Scotland
Katherine Grainger CBE, Rowing

Team Scot of the Year – sponsored by European Championships 2018
Steph Inglis, Judo