Scottish Disability Sport Annual Awards Nominations

Nominations are invited from those connected with SDS for awards that will be presented at the AGM on 17th September 2017.

Please note that all nominations must be supported/seconded by an individual or organisation in membership of SDS.  It is important that there is a clear indication why the individual is being nominated.

A list of former award winners can be seen here:

All nominations should be returned in confidence, before Monday 21st August 2017, to:

Gavin Macleod, CEO, Scottish Disability Sport, Caledonia House, South Gyle, Edinburgh EH12 9DQ

Alternatively the nominations can be completed online here.

The award categories are:

  • SDS Glasgow Trophy for “Service to Sport” : This award recognises individuals who have played an active role in the development of SDS in any capacity whatsoever. Length of service as an SDS volunteer is an aspect that has been taken into consideration in determining appropriate recipients in the past.
  • SDS Fife Trophy for (Coach of the Year): This award recognises coaches who have played a significant role in supporting SDS members to achieve their full potential.
  • Russell Hogg Trophy (Development Coach of the Year): This award recognises emerging coaches who have committed to supporting Scottish athletes and players with a disability.
  • Findlay Calder Trophy (Athlete of the Year): Awarded to the athlete who has contributed most to disability athletics in the past year.
  • Brian Dolan Memorial Trophy (Swimmer of the Year): This award is specifically for the swimmer who has contributed most to disability swimming in the past year.
  • Angus Trophy: Awarded to the Sportsperson of the Year (excluding athletics and swimming).
  • Elspeth Watson Trophy: Awarded to an individual outwith SDS who has contributed significantly to disability sport.
  • Special Awards: This section was introduced at the AGM of 2002 to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution in raising the profile of disability sport in Scotland.
  • Silver Salver: Donated by Capability Scotland, this award is specifically for a talented newcomer.
  • Gordon Brown Trophy – Athletes’ Athlete Trophy