Rotary Support for Disability Sport Fife

Rotary Bursaries

For the second successive year the Association of Fife Rotary Clubs has enabled Disability Sport Fife (DSF) to provide bursaries for established and emerging performance athletes and fund sport specific development projects that will increase levels of sports participation.

Present and Past Chairmen of the Association of Fife Rotary Clubs Jim Slater (Dunfermline Carnegie Rotary) and Derek Thomson (Burntisland and Kinghorn Rotary) met Richard Brickley, President of DSF and the recipient athletes for a cheque handover in Glenrothes. This year Rotary Clubs across Fife awarded a total of £1,170 to DSF to be allocated as individual and group bursaries.

Great Britain middle distance athlete Owen Miller from Dunfermline and Fife AC was awarded a bursary to help meet the costs of his involvement in the INAS European Championships in Turkey. Owen won a gold and silver medal for 800  and 1500 metres. Owen is coached by Steve Doig.

Stephan Hoggan from Auchtermuchty was awarded a bursary to help with the costs of Paratriathlon winter training in Majorca. After a year in the sport Stefan is ranked three in GB and included in the GB performance squad. Stefan is coached by Fiona Lothian of Triathlon Scotland.

Cara Smyth from Dalgety Bay and the Incas club is one of Scotland’s most promising young physically disabled swimmers. Cara was awarded a bursary to help with her training and competition expenses going forward.

Steven Anderson, Robert Anderson and Briony Clark from Glenrothes are three of DSF’s most enthusiastic young volunteers. All three are talented all round athlete members of DSF. The final Rotary award was allocated to the development of bowls and encouraging novice bowlers to join local clubs and commit to a sport where DSF has an excellent track record in all competitions. Briony has already made a significant impact in the sport at national level after receiving coaching at the Dovecot Club.

Richard Brickley MBE
President, Disability Sport Fife

Photo: front L to R – Briony Clark, Cara Smyth, Owen Miller, Stefan Hoggan , Richard Brickley; back L to R – Jim Slater, Robert Anderson, Derek Thomson, Steven Anderson