Para Bowls Squad Announced

Scottish Disability Sport (SDS) is the recognised governing body for para bowls in Scotland and is tasked with selecting a squad that is capable of delivering medals at the highest levels of international competition, including the Home Nations Championships, IBD World Championships and the Commonwealth Games.  Scotland is considered to be one of the leading countries within the sport and our mission is to become the number one para bowls nation in the world.

With the inclusion of two events within the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games para programme – Mixed Pair B2/B3 and Open Triple B6/B7/B8 – preparations have accelerated.  As a result SDS, along with the coaching staff, have been in the process of monitoring performances within the current programme in order to select a group of players tasked with ensuring Scotland’s qualification for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.  This group of players will compete at the Gold Coast Para-Sport Lawn Bowls Competition from the 4 – 7 June 2017 at Broadbeach Bowls Club in Australia.

Selection decisions are always difficult and given the strength and depth that we now have in the programme this has become even more challenging, with competition or places extremely high.

Commenting on the team selection, SDS Performance Manager Gary Fraser said:

“SDS are delighted to announce a strong field of players to compete at the Gold Coast Para-Sport Lawn Bowls Competition.  Selection decisions were extremely difficult but we feel the group has a good blend of experience, youth and a strong sense of team unity, which is vital for pairs and triples disciplines. We look forward to the event next month and have every confidence in the players we have selected. Furthermore, we are delighted to be receiving various support services via the sportscotand Institute of Sport, in order to ensure our players are in the best possible position to deliver at the Commonwealth Games in 2018”.

Open Triples B6/B7/B8

Player Classification Town Local Authority
Billy Allan B6 Cowdenbeath Fife
Mike Nicoll B6 Jedburgh Scottish Borders
Garry Brown B7 Kirkmuirhill South Lanarkshire
Martin Hunter B7 Burntisland Fife
Michael Simpson B7 Auchtermuchty Fife
John Wardrope B7 Ayr South Ayrshire
Barbara McMillan B7 Cowdenbeath Fife
Gary Clelland B6 Linlithgow West Lothian


Mixed Pair B2/B3

Robert Barr B3 Glasgow Glasgow
Billy Edgar B3 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Irene Edgar B2 Saltcoats North Ayrshire
Maria Spencer B3 Dunfermline Fife
Mary Stevenson B2 Barrhead Renfrewshire



Director Town Local Authority
Sarah-Jane Ewing Dunfermline Fife
Ron McArthur Falkirk Falkirk
Christine Morrow Dalmuir Clydebank
David Thomas Ardrossan North Ayrshire


Coaches Town Local Authority
Bob Dick (Head Coach) Cupar Fife
Chris McGready Perth Perth & Kinross
Eric McMillan Cowdenbeath Fife
Nigel Walker Dalgety Bay Fife