Four Scots Selected for World Para Championships

Jo Butterfield at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

Four Scottish Para athletes will be heading to London in July to compete at the 2017 World Para Athletics Championships at the London Stadium in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park from 14-23 July.

The 49 strong squad was announced by British Athletics this week, including 21 medallists from the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games. The names of the four Scots selected are Jo Butterfield, Maria Lyle, Stef Reid and Sammi Kinghorn.
Jo, Maria and Stef were all medal winners at the Rio Paralympic Games last summer and Sammi recently set a 28.67 seconds 200m T53 World Record at Mesa, Arizona, knocking a remarkable 0.26 seconds off the record set by US racer Jessica Galli five years ago.

Unfortunately, double Rio gold medallist Libby Clegg‘s hopes of competing this summer were ended when she sustained a calf injury earlier this week and will not recover in time for July.

There is no marathon event at the World Para Athletic Championships but Fife’s Derek Rae raced at the IPC World Marathon Cup at the London Marathon in April and won bronze medal in his class.

The four Scots face a busy schedule in London with the quartet entered for no fewer than 10 events between them.
Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat/Shona Malcolm) will compete in the F51 club throw and discus, Maria Lyle (Ryan Freckleton) in the T35 100m, 200m and relay, Stef Reid (Aston Moore) goes in the T44 Long Jump whilst Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin) will race over T53 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m.

British Athletics Team for the World Para Athletics Championships London 2017 taking place between 14-23 July 2017:

Kare Adenegan (Job King) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Hollie Arnold (David Parker) – F46 Javelin
Graeme Ballard (Trevor Painter) – T36 100m and 200m
Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea) – T20 Long Jump
Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk) – T36 100m, 200m and 400m
Dan Bramall (Peter Wyman) – T33 100m
Olivia Breen (Aston Moore) – T38 Long Jump, 100m and 4x100m relay
Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Paul Harrison) – T44 High Jump
Mickey Bushell (Jenny Archer) – T53 100m
Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat / Shona Malcolm) – F51 Club Throw and Discus
Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks) – T54 200m, 400m, 800m and 1500m
Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie) – T38 100m, 200m, 400m and 4x100m relay
Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones) – F42 Shot Put and Discus
Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes) – F41 Shot Put
Sabrina Fortune (Antony Hughes / Ian Robinson) – F20 Shot Put
Toby Gold (Jenni Banks) – T33 100m
Dan Greaves (John Godina) – F44 Discus
Kylie Grimes (Phil Peat) – F51 Club Throw
Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell) – T38 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay
James Hamilton (Mark Kirk) – T20 800m and 1500m
David Henson (Roger Keller) – T42 100m and 200m
Georgie Hermitage (Paul McGregor) – T37 100m, 400m and 4x100m relay
Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm) – T35 100m
Abbie Hunnisett (Anthony Hughes / Mark Hunnisett) – F32 Club Throw
Jade Jones (Ian Thompson / Tanni Grey-Thompson) – T54 800m, 1500m and 5000m
Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm) – T37 100m
Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk) – T44 100m
Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin) – T53 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m
Maria Lyle (Ryan Freckleton) – T35 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay
Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins) – T54 200m, 400m and 800m
Polly Maton (Colin Baross) – T47 100m and Long Jump
Stephen Miller (Ros Miller) – F32 Club Throw
Stephen Morris (James Thie) – T20 800m, 1500m and 5000m
Jonnie Peacock (Dan Pfaff / Mike Khmel) – T44 100m
Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood) – F32 Club Throw
Stefanie Reid (Aston Moore) – T44 Long Jump
Ben Rowlings (Job King) – T34 400m and 800m
Sam Ruddock (Jim Edwards) – F35 Shot Put
Zac Shaw (Joe McDonnell) – T12 100m and 200m
Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller) – T42 Long Jump
Zak Skinner (David Hull) – T13 100m and Long Jump
Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins) – T33 100m
Laura Sugar (Femi Akinsanya) – T44 100m and 200m
Carly Tait (Jenni Banks) – T34 100m, 400m and 800m
Kieran Tscherniawsky (Jim Edwards) – F33 Shot Put
Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman) – T34 400m and 800m
Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan) – F34 Shot Put
Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine) – T42 100m and 200m