East Cross Country Series 3 – Fife

Group photo of Madras College pupils

Series 3 of the 2017 East Cross Country Series was held at the Beveridge Park in Kirkcaldy. The event was organised by Disability Sport Fife (DSF) and Fife AC on behalf of Scottish Disability Sport and Scottish Athletics. Fife AC provided the officials and Kirkcaldy HS a team of Sports Leaders to assist with the running of the event. Kirkcaldy Rugby Club provided access to their pavilion.

Over 90 Fife athletes with additional support needs registered along with 20 from Lothian and 1 from Perth. The schools from Fife involved were Rosslyn, Levenmouth Academy, Madras College, Bell Baxter HS, Balwearie HS, Lochgelly HS and Woodmill HS. The schools from Lothian were Cedarbank, Pilrig Park and Redhall School. Kilgraston represented the Perth area. Fife AC members were the only club athletes who took part.

The shortest distance event on the programme was 500 metres and Mathew Graham (Redhall), Joy Hutchison (Levenmouth Academy), Shay Dowie (Madras Coll) Eilidia Lennox (Bell Baxter HS) and Jack Wilson (Balwearie HS) were the section winners.

Winners of the 1K girls races were Freya Howgate (Kilgraston), Sophie Coughlin S1(Bell Baxter HS), Jenna Richardson S2 (Madras College), Mari Davidson S2 (Levenmouth Academy), Megan Wilson S3 (Woodmill HS), Chloe Hutchison S4/S5/S6 (Madras College) Fiona Knowles S4/S5/S6 (Madras College), and Kerry Kotlewski S4/S5/S6 (Bell Baxter HS). Sophie Coghlin from Bell Baxter HS recored the fastest girls 1K time of the day – 7.46.

Over 40 boys lined up for the 1 K races. Winners of the boys races were Stephen Davies S1 (Lochgelly HS), Edwin Barron S2 (Woodmill HS), Connor Brown S3 (Woodmill HS), Nathan Lee S3 (Madras College, Dylon McKay S3 (Levenmouth Academy) and Kyle McGrandles S4/S5/S6 (Cedarbank. Dylon McKay from Levenmouth Academy ran the fastest 1k time of the day – 5.47.

17 athletes entered for 2K races and there were six individual sections. The race winners were Hanna Stewart S1/S2 (Madras College), Abbie Steggles S4/S5/S6 (Dunfermline HS), Louise Harley S4/S5/S6 (Lochgelly HS), Leo Henry S1/S2/S3 (Levenmouth Academy), Steven Stone S4/S5/S6 (Pilrig Park) and Ryan Spearman (Fife AC). Abbie Steggles from Dunfermline HS was the fastest girl in a time of 11.51 and Steven Stone from Pilrig Park was the fastest boy over 2K in 8.04.

There was a small entry in the 3K races with the Scottish Champion Owen Miller from Fife AC recording the fastest overall time in winning the senior men’s race – 8.34. The other race winners were Allan Wilson S2 from Levenmouth Academy and Richard Allan S4/S5/S6 also from Levenmouth Academy.

Well done to all the participants who head to Peffermill in Edinburgh for the final race in the East Cross Country Series next month. Thanks again to Steve Doig, Melville Scobie, Frank McLaren and all the other Fife AC officials who played such a major part in the event.

Photo: Madras College

Richard Brickley MBE – President Disability Sport Fife