Dunfermline and West Fife Sports Council Awards

Kieran Steer and guest at the awards

Disability Sport Fife (DSF) was well represented across the various awards categories at the 2017 Dunfermline and West Fife Sports Council Annual Awards presented at the Glen Pavilion in Dunfermline on Wednesday 22nd February.

Councillor Helen Law of Fife Council welcomed athletes, guests and sponsors and the Provost of Fife, Councillor Jim Leishman MBE offered the vote of thanks. Lindsay Weir and Douglas Scott led the proceedings and attendees were enthusiastically entertained by the pupils from Milesmark Primary School early on in the evening.

The President and Chairman of Disability Sport Fife were invited as guests, with the former accepting the Sports Person of the Year Award on behalf of GB Paralympian Alison Patrick from Dunfermline. Richard offered the audience an insight into Alison’s magnificent year past and described some of the challenges faced by the British, European and World champion and her guide Hazel Smith on their way to winning silver at the Games in Rio last September.  Chairman Paul held the coveted trophy and posed with the Award sponsor Ken Richards from SignPlus. Previous winners were Paralympians William McQueen 1991 and Andrew Lindsay in 1994. West Fife greats such as Lindsay MacDonald (3 wins), Eilidh Child (6 wins) and Russell Hogg 1992 are proudly identified as winners of the premier award of the evening.

The East Kilbride Sports Council Award, supported by Disability Sport Fife is awarded to the Disabled Athlete of the Year. Previous winners include Owen Miller (2010), Maria Spencer (2013), Alison Patrick (2015), Craig Rodgie (4wins) and Kieran Steer (2014). Between 1998 and 2006 Andrew Lindsay and Rebecca Lee shared the honours. The 2016 winner was Kieran Steer with runners up awards being presented to Owen Miller, Ollie Carter, Billy Allan, Barbara McMillan and Alan Reynolds.

Sarah Jane Ewing was nominated by Disability Sport Fife for the Coach of the Year Award sponsored by TimberShack but lost out narrowly to Morag Mitchell, head coach at Carnegie Swimming Club. Maria Spencer also collected a runners up trophy in the Centenary Masters Award category sponsored by the Dunfermline Carnegie Trust. Cara Smyth similarly collected a runners up award in Young Spors Person of the Year Category sponsored by Redmayne Bentley Stockbrokers.

Well done Dunfermline and West Fife Sports Council. Once again you have organised a magnificent inclusive Awards Evening.

Richard Brickley MBE
President, Disability Sport Fife