2017 Fife Lawn Bowls Championships

The Beveridge Park Bowling Club in Kirkcaldy played host once again to the Disability Sport Fife (DSF) Lawn Bowls Championships on Friday 16th June. The Championships were first held in 1976 at the Lynebank Hospital in Dunfermline but the Beveridge Park has been the traditional home for over 30 years. Math Thomson, Vice President of the club handed over the green to DSF at 10 30 for a full day singles play for bowlers with a physical, sensory or learning disability.

Wendy Thomson from East Fife CSS and St Andrews BC defeated Michelle Wallace from Central Fife CSS to win the women’s open title for players with a learning disability. Both players are previous Scottish Champions. Scottish Champion Darryl Stewart from Cowdenbeath won the men’s open title with an 8-3 win over Gary Handyside from West Fife CSS.

There was a strong representation of bowlers from Dovecot BC and first to win a title was Robert Anderson who defeated Wullie Christie from East Fife CSS and Windygates BC in the B section final. Next up was Sandy Allan from Dovecot BC who defeated Robert McMahon from Central Fife CSS to take the C section title. Fergus Wilson from West Fife CSS and Lumphinans BC won the D section title with a convincing win over David Scott from East Fife CSS.

Fresh from international competition in Broadbeach on the Gold Coast, Billy Allan from Cowdenbeath retained the Fife mixed open title for physically disabled bowlers with Mary Wilson and Sam Smeaton from the Abbeyview Club sharing runners up spot. Stuart Chesby from Dunfermline won his first Fife Lawn Bowls title with wins over Eleanor Clark, Kenny Dow and Wullie Harrison.

Richard Brickley MBE
President, Disability Sport Fife